Welcome to

Capitol News Service

Florida's Best Political Television Coverage


Visit the Lobby Tools Website


Visit Legislative IQ Website


Recent Posts



RSS Capitol News LIVE

RSS Quote of the Day

Atwater Chosen As Next Florida Senate President

December 11th, 2007 by flanews

Republicans formally designated North Palm Beach Senator Jeff Atwater as next years President at an early evening ceremony in the historic chambers at the Old Capitol. Miami Senator Alex Villalobos was originally in line to succeed Ken Pruitt as leader, but Atwater won the power struggle. He spoke of the perceived rift between the Senate and the House. The Senate essentially forced the House to take or leave its property tax cut amendment in October, which voters will decide in January.

I wouldnt call it so much a rift,” Sen. Atwater said. “We come at this from dynamics of different perspectives. And to come together now, what we did this past couple of months, we lay before the voters. But its a step. We have to come right back with ideas as to how now might we structure our taxes so that private property ownership is truly possible.

Atwater was elected to the Senate in 2002. He served one term in the House. He’ll take leadership of the Senate if Republicans keep their majority after next fall’s election.

Posted in Legislature, Politics | No Comments »

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

copyright © 2016 by Capitol News Service | Powered by Wordpress | Hosted by LyonsHost.com